“Retired? …….”

 

I like to think of retirement as totally giving up the idea that multi-tasking is a requirement of life.  I find it tremendously lovely to do one thing at a time.  My brain has found peace in this simple commitment.  Do I occasionally find myself trying to do a bunch of things at once?  Yep.  Am I doing any of them with satisfaction? Nope.  Will I get better at doing one thing at a time with joy?  You bet.  It’s really good to have goals.  🙂

“Retired?  Nope, Rewired.”  I am not sure who to give literary credit to for this great saying….so I give credit to the person who said it to me – leader of our women’s book study at church.

My Dad loved to say, “I am retired.  I got up this morning with nothing to do and by the time I went to bed I had it half done.”

A close friend, when asked what it is like to be retired, answers, “You don’t want to know, it really is that good.”

So many quotes in life, I just can’t figure out which ones I like best.  Here are some of my favorites:

“To one who has faith, no explanation is necessary. To one without faith, no explanation is possible.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Thomas Aquinas

“You have achieved success if you have lived well, laughed often and loved much.”                                                                                                                                   Unknown

“Experience is what you get when you don’t get what you want.”                                                                                                                                                                       Unknown

“And in the end it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.”                                                                                                                                   Abraham Lincoln

“It’s time to start living the life you’ve imagined.”                                                                                                                                                                                                     Henry James

 

Do you have some favorite quotes?  Of course you do.  I would be honored to have you share some with me.

Have you ever listened to the magic voice of Carrie Newcomer?  This is about living the life you’ve imagined….and not waiting.”

 

4 thoughts on ““Retired? …….”

  1. Sharon

    I think about retirement every day !!! When to take the leap??? Soon….soon…. You have made retirement …. rewirement look wonderful….full of love and joy !

    One favorite saying that I love to quote is….” What is money for if you can’t spend it ?? ”
    My Mother 🙂
    She is now in her 90th year and still a barrel of FUN !!!

    xo, SL

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

