Nurses

Happy Nurses Week! It used to be Nurses Day, but now it’s a whole week.  I hope you take a few minutes to read this post, because it doesn’t matter if you’re a nurse – I’m sure you’ve been touched by at least one in your life – probably much more than one.  I am a nurse, and I have been touched and cared for by more nurses than I can count.  What a marvelous thing to be able to say.  Our world is blessed by this profession.

Some people were born nurses. Not so much for me; I had to grow into it.

When I was 19 I quit college for no good reason, and was working as a breakfast waitress in my home town. One day, as I was going out the “IN” door with a fresh pot of coffee, I managed to collide with the door as someone came in the “IN” door, and I spilled a lot of the hot coffee down the front of me.  Not a good day…………..

The burn was not life threatening but did require an ER visit.  The nurse that took care of me at C. A. Dean Memorial Hospital in Greenville, Maine happened to be the mother of a high school chum.  After she fixed me up and reassured me that I would be OK, she looked me in the eye and said, “Why don’t you become a nurse?”  Then she let me in on one of the best kept secrets about nursing.  The camaraderie among nurses transcends age, race, religion, gender – in fact it pretty much transcends everything. When one nurse meets another nurse it’s as if a mind-meld happens instantly – the conversation is always easy after that. She told me it was one of the most supportive clubs I could ever join, and she knew I was smart enough to make it.  Anyway, that day I decided to be a nurse and I’ve never looked back.

Have you ever wondered if maybe you’re on this earth so that you can make a difference in someone’s life like she did? That nurse fixed up a bunch of folks in her tenure, as well as reached out and touched folks even when she couldn’t fix it.  She impacted countless lives in that small town.  And, she literally changed my life with just one small effort to recruit me into the profession.

Thirty some years later I met up with her again, and she did remember that day.  With a cute smile she happily took credit for the fact that I became a nurse.  Doggone it, though, she convinced me that I was so special that I forgot to ask her how many other recruits she had brought into the ranks over the years.   Nurses are like that – they just make you feel special, don’t they?  🙂

I am retired now after a varied and rewarding career – and I wholeheartedly, humbly and thankfully salute nurses all over the world.  No words can begin to convey how amazing this profession is.   Bravo to all of you!!!!!

I’m sure this week you could find thousands of wonderful and touching tributes to nurses.   If you Google “Nurses Week”, you will find a bunch of them. This one, however is my favorite. I am sure most nurses will be able to watch this one all the way through, and probably won’t be able to stop themselves once they start to watch even if they are crying.  If it is too much after you start it, feel free to turn it off without regret, I totally understand.  Then, take a few minutes to thank a nurse.

“Please remember that The Universe only asked a very special few to dedicate their lives in the service of caring for others…and you said Yes.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Nurses

  1. Well here’s another thing we have in common! I retired after 41 years as an RN! It’ll be 2 years ago come September! A great way to make a difference!😊😉🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

