Not yer Mum’s beet greens

Let’s just say Mum loved beet greens.  Cooked thoroughly and drizzled with cider vinegar.  Snag them with your fork and with minimal chewing they slide right down.  Dandelion greens came much the same way when I was growing up.  So did spinach in the hot lunch line………not my favorite food.  The saving grace on beet greens was that soon they gave you beets, which can then become delicious pickles or Hahhh vahd Beets.  So, I wasn’t too excited to find I had a plethora of beet greens recently given to me. Sure they make good compost, but I am in this garden season where fresh is best, so…………..  through the wonders of internet searches, I found out you can put amazing foods with them and they become something otherworldly good.  Bacon was of course the main thing people do to make beet greens yummy.  I decided to just see where my creative juices took me, and I made this recipe up one evening.  It converted two beet greens haters at the same time.  Try it, you just might like it!

Not Yer Mum’s Beet Greens

1# hot spicy ground sausage.   Brown in large skillet, and drain off any excess sausage grease.

Add to the browned meat, 2 Tbsp of EVOO.  Heat the oil and add 1 large sweet onion chopped into large pieces, and 5 cloves fresh garlic minced.

Saute until onion is carmelized, then add 1 large Portabella mushroom cap,  sliced.

Continue to saute until mushrooms are slightly softened.

Then add 1 large sprig fresh basil, chopped, and 1 small spring of fresh tarragon, chopped.

Stir and then add 8 to 10 sun-dried tomatoes.

Stir and then add 1 large mixing bowl full of greens.  Stir again (your skillet will be very full – that is why the directions say large skillet)  I think a dutch oven might work too, but I have this ridiculously lovely large skillet, so that is what I use.  Continue to stir as the greens magically reduce in size.

Tah-dahh!!

Add grated gouda cheese on top just prior to serving.  (Feel free to add salt and pepper to taste.) Serve with some delicious bread and butter.

This would work great as a pasta sauce as well, I just thought of that.

Enjoy!!!

Here is a great song to listen to while you cook almost anything.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Not yer Mum’s beet greens

  1. Carla Heath

    Ick! You ruined perfectly good beet greens. I agree with Auntie Sib, little butter, vinegar and they are perfect. Haha. (Although everything is better with bacon).😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon

    Sounds delish !! I love my beet green quiche ! Have you tried it ?? I always feel so healthy after eating fresh greens …. Had some fresh peas tonight ….YUMMY …. just butter and salt …. none of that cream on my peas please ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sharon

        Use your regular quiche recipe and just add cooked,drained, chopped beet greens like you would spinach. It’s that simple !! You know me ….. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

