Patience

I can’t summon the patience to wait until August 1st to post this.  🙂

Robert Fulghum wrote about this conflict we all struggle with.   I have paraphrased him a bit here, and I am not sure where I stand – depends on the situation I guess.

  • Be patient – all good things come to those who wait.
    • This tries my patience.
  • What’s the rush?
    • Let’s get a move on.
  • Wait a minute.
    • Go for the gusto.
  • This isn’t a race you know.
    • Look for the opportunity and seize it.
  • Take your time – we got all day.
    • What are you waiting for?
  • A penny saved is a penny earned.
    • You can’t take it with you.

 

Patience as a Fruit of the Spirit is about waiting, sometimes enduring, with the hope that the waiting will result in some kind of improved outcome. It is for me a tool that I am still trying to fine tune and use when needed.

I remember 30 years ago when my oldest brother told me how surprised he was to see that I had patience with my own small children. I also remember looking at him like he had 2 heads when he said that.  I guess the “me” as a small child that he knew 30 years prior to that wasn’t the same “me” he saw with my own small children.   I am pretty sure that is a very good thing. 🙂

I am still guaranteed to get an eye roll when I say to my kids, “Delayed gratification is a sign of maturity”.   I have often enjoyed saying it more that I probably should have, just to see the eyes roll.   It’s quite difficult sometimes to wait in a patient manner for what we want to happen – what we want to know – what we want to have, right?

Something I have come to really miss in the past few years? Lengthy conversations when a question is posed (preferably at the dining room table) that no one knows the answer to.  I am thinking I need to start those questions with, “OK, no one take out their phones, let’s just see who knows the answer………and let’s see how we will cope if no one knows.” Pretty old fashioned concept, right?  OK, it is fine to admit that not knowing the immediate answer might be making you shudder, but stop for a minute and recall how fun those discussions were, even if we never came up with the answer.

As a Fruit of the Spirit, I think Patience is the easiest of the Fruits for me to understand and one of the most difficult to use.  Sometimes we must just wait….patiently….with hope and trust that all will be well.

When I am being exasperating, I love being around someone who has patience.  When I am in a hurry, I love being with someone to slow me down and create some balance.  When my fear holds me back and I risk losing out by hesitating, I love being with someone who encourages me.  Here is that earthly buddy, swinging at the mccordsand this is by far the best picture ever taken of us.  I love this guy!

Nice.

Enjoy this song – it is my favorite song of all time……….and can’t imagine I will ever hear another one I like better.  Be patient with yourself if you can’t figure out what the song has to do with Patience.  I think I have been really patient to wait this long to include it in my blog!  🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Patience

  1. Bov Nicholson

    Sailing taught me how to be patient. Actually it left me no other choice. Looking back I realize that I never practiced those lessons when I wasn’t sailing. I’m sure it would have made my life a lot easier.
    One of my favorite songs is Wooden Ships. Also by C.S.&N.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sharon

    Good morning my friend ! Your blog is a lovely way to start my day …… “patience”….. I am patiently waiting for your visit in September …… ” can’t wait !!!! ” XO 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

